Skip to content
August 11, 2015 / CoffeeCoder

Revisiting an old project…

I'm baaaack!

I’m baaaack!

So, a little background information first. I have installed Linux Mint on my system and it is now my main OS. Of course I still have Windows, but I am using it less and less and less. Naturally, this means that I can’t use engines like GameMaker, since there is no Linux version available. Thankfully, there exists a wonderful engine, called Stencyl, which just so happens to have a Linux client!
The best part about Stencyl is that it’s like GameMaker, but 10x better. I don’t have to program in a ridiculously limited language like GML; Stencyl has a visual scripting system much like Unreal’s blueprint system, but it is much more user-friendly and you can see the code it generates in the background. You can also, of course, code in a language called Haxe, which is pretty just Java with a different name.

Alright, so now that I’ve said that, what’s this old project?

Back in 2013 I had purchased GameMaker Studio, so that  I could learn a thing or two more about making 2D games. 2013 saw a huge demand for “retro” games that were 2D and making a huge comeback. I decided that since I wasn’t very good at programming, I would do it with the help of GameMaker. I got pretty far, and had created most of the game’s mechanics before I decided to drop the project since it wasn’t gaining interest on the GameMaker forums. I was also having one hell of a time trying to get one-way platforms to work!

But it was the first game that I had actually almost saw to completion. It was the first game I was able to make decent media for, I still wish I had those tilesets but I will have to redraw them, which is fine since I want to go for an SNES-era look.

I still remember the ideas that I had for the story, which is amazing seeing as I never wrote them down anywhere.

The game will consist, as it was originally, of just simple run-n’-jump goodness. Smash enemies. Get points. Collect coins. Rinse and repeat!

I think it’s the perfect way to whet my appetite with Stencyl, too.

Leave a Reply

