Skip to content
September 17, 2014 / CoffeeCoder

Progress Report on Project Roll-Away!

Although I haven’t done too much since I posted about my project, I have implemented some pretty interesting things.

I added some enemies, one is a repeller that follows the player to continue pushing it until it falls off of the map (or into another enemy), and the other is a magnet which drains your health at 1 point per second until you can break away (which can be done!).

I have a video here demonstrating what I mean!

I plan to add some other enemies, though I’ve yet to figure out what all they’ll be!  I do have an idea for one but I won’t tell you what it is yet!

As you can tell, the geometry of the level is quite unappealing. This is because everything is currently a placeholder, and will be replaced with fully detailed models in the future. I plan to make the repellers have some sort of “force field” around them, which expands as they’re pushing the player away, and the magnets will look like a stack of neodymium magnets.

I’ve also upgraded the central code of the game to rely on a “Game State Manager”, which  means that information such as the score, lives and health are persistent and won’t be wiped when new levels are loaded. There is a save game and a load game function and they both work flawlessly.

That’s really all I have to report for now, stay tuned for more!

Leave a Reply

