Skip to content
August 28, 2014 / CoffeeCoder

Resurrecting “Project: Roll-A-Ball”

I have sort of resurrected the project I had been working on earlier in the year.

By that, I mean I have finally come up with some pretty unique ideas for game mechanics, and I have also learned a fair bit more of Unity’s physics engine!

I just started developing today, and I’m surprised by how much I’ve already been able to get done (only been working for about 1.25 hours total, intermittently throughout the day). I have the basics of player control worked out, I have a checkpoint system, soon I’ll add in a scoring system and such like, as well as collectibles.

I’m not going to worry about the polish anytime soon, in fact I’ve come up with a scheme on how I’ll identify objects in the meantime (since the finished game will have a LOT of detail!).

    1. Any floor objects/platforms will be RED for being a REGULAR FLOOR TYPE
    2. Any different types of floor will be colored BLACK to represent UNSAFE FLOORS, and DARK GREEN for different conditions, such as slippery/icy
    3. Checkpoint objects are GREEN for GO
    4. PlayerStart positions are PURPLE, because it looks cool
    5. Player object is BLUE because that’s what I chose

With that system now explained, here’s a screenshot of what I’ve got so far, it’s nothing fancy!

Screen Shot 2014-08-28 at 6.03.41 PM

4×4 Unity View

And here’s a better look at the scene populated with a few checkpoints:

Screen Shot 2014-08-28 at 6.04.27 PM

Better View

My personal goal is to see how far I can get by the end of September – if I can get far enough that I can start work on implementing final textures and detailed world pieces, I’ll shoot for a release for NaGaCreMo ’15, which should be a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

