Skip to content
June 28, 2013 / CoffeeCoder

Been playing waaay too much Skyrim…

Markarth!

Skyrim is one of those games that probably every self-professed geek has played, and loves playing.  Open-world, 500+ hours of gameplay, huge expansion packs, and the ability to choose which path you walk down (good or evil) are great elements for these types of games.  I absolutely love games like this!

I didn’t use to always like RPGs, however.  In fact, I used to be quite against them, due to the fact that I knew if I started playing one, I wouldn’t be able to put it down.  It would be too addicting, too much fun, and I was afraid I’d never sleep again if I played one.

That all changed when a friend gifted me with a copy of Oblivion for PC last year, and ever since then, I’ve been huge on the entire Elder Scrolls series, and can’t wait until Elder Scrolls Online comes out next Spring.

At this point, you may be wondering why I’m talking about this, and wondering if I have a point to this story.  And yes, dear reader, there is a point!

A few years ago (about the summer of 2009), I came up with what I felt was a pretty good idea for an RPG game.  Yes, I had never played one, and still was reluctant to play any at the time, but I still had a pretty good idea for one.  I kept it on the backburner for in the future, when I knew I had enough know-how to even begin developing it, and to give me enough time to do some “research” on RPGs.

But then a whole lot of events happened, all within 1.5 weeks of each other, that completely changed my life and made me forget all about it.  It wasn’t until last week that I remembered it, and in fact it’s the same idea I talked about in my post.  It just took me a little while to remember it was an idea I had already had, and why the ideas came so darned easily!

I have the setting chosen, the characters named, the name of the land the player is in, the main storyline figured out, AND I even know how I want to design the levels already!

It will be a game in a cartoon fashion, similar to “The Legend of Zelda: The Windwaker”, and with a lot of humorous moments intertwined with some compelling plot points.
The main premise is typical of all RPG games.  There’s a land, it’s threatened, and the protagonist is the prophesied hero, and you all know the drill.  But it will also have some historical links, and links to legends from the Dark Ages.  To give you a hint, the name of the land is “Arthore”, and I’m sure you can figure out what that might mean…

I will be developing it with Unity3D, and it will be published to at least Mac, Linux and Windows, but I’m not sure about mobile platforms just yet.  The OUYA (should it prove a popular platform in another 2+ years) will also be targeted.

I can’t wait to tell you more later!

Leave a Reply

