Skip to content
May 19, 2013 / CoffeeCoder

New Idea for a Game…

Over the past several days, I’ve been spending my time trying to learn how to make a platform in GameMaker that a player can jump up through, but land on once they’re above it, something found in most platformers.  I have been unsuccessful as of yet, but hopefully the GMC will answer my prayers and provide me with a solution!

Aside from that, I’ve also been working on my game art, and found a graphical style I really, really like.  The only problem is, it does not match the mood of the game I’ve been talking about previously in this blog.  In fact, while I’m on that subject, I’ve been finding it ridiculously hard to write the story for that game and make it progress logically.  I  may have to work out the kinks in it, before I can call it a story of any sort.

I’ve also decided that it would be too big of a project to tackle while I’m still learning GameMaker.  The plans I have for it require a very good understanding of how GameMaker works, and seeing as I can’t even figure out one of the basic elements I want in it, I should probably put that project on the back burner, until I have a better understanding of GameMaker.

A recap of the reasons why it’s being put on hold…

  1. I can’t make platforms that allow you to jump through them, but become solid once you land on top of them
  2. The story I want to tell has too many parts, and I can’t figure out how to tell it logically without annoying the player
  3. I need more time to learn GameMaker, and it’s simply too large a project to be the first game I make with it

But, I DID have a simpler idea, again for a platformer, but with a much simpler story, and it will be easy to make it my “Learning GameMaker Project”!  A screenshot, showcasing the main character, and the main style of art I’m going for (very simplistic):

Beta Level of Unknown Cube Game

Beta Level of Unknown Cube Game

I did all of that in just a couple of hours – designing the character was slightly harder than I imagined (getting the eyes to look right while remaining squares), but there’ll be so, so much more in the next day or so to come – provided I can stay motivated to work on it!

Leave a Reply

