Skip to content
May 3, 2013 / CoffeeCoder

Got my new drawing tablet yesterday!

So I didn’t post an update for Day 5 of my Sprite Design week. I think I’m actually going to halt that for now, because this week has been kind of nuts!

First, I’ve had to go into work early a few days, and so didn’t really have time in the mornings to work on sprite design. Second, when I did have free time I was checking out online apps for a potential full-time position somewhere. So I didn’t even really work on sprites at all yesterday.

My new Pen Tablet is so much fun. Unfortunately, I’m not much of an artist to begin with, so I haven’t drawn anything impressive with it yet. I did test GIMP with it, and tried to work on sprites with it for about 5 minutes. It does make it easier and faster to draw some things, but going pixel-by-pixel with a pen is slightly more difficult than one may expect.

The software included with the tablet is ArtRage Studio 3  (a great application for digital painting!) and Autodesk Sketchbook Express. I may actually buy the pro version of that, it has very nice sketching tools, and I found it to be a bit more intuitive than ArtRage, though ArtRage wins in the painting department.

I’ll post some drawing with it soon. First, I have to work today!

Leave a Reply

