Skip to content
May 1, 2013 / CoffeeCoder

Continuing Sprite Design: Day 4 (Already?! What?!)

Well, it took me a really long time to achieve this, and unfortunately it took me longer than it should have for two reasons.

Reason 1) I should have originally separated the grass and dirt into two layers.

Reason 2) Because I didn’t, I had to do a lot of tracing and erasing around the edges of the grass to achieve…

This! Swirls in the dirt!

This! Swirls in the dirt!

This took me probably around two hours to do, especially since I hand drew it from scratch, and had to make sure it was tileable. That’s kind of a pain to do, especially when you’re just starting out with sprite design. Luckily, I should be obtaining my Wacom Bamboo Splash tomorrow, and that will help immensely.

Now, just to do something similar with the grass up top, and I should be done with this land sprite, at least for this week. Then I might actually attempt different objects to finish off the week with. We’ll see!

Leave a Reply

