Skip to content
April 20, 2013 / CoffeeCoder

Getting my Sprite on!

Over the past few days, I’ve been researching the best program to draw sprites with.

What I found is that 1), I rather suck at creating 2D imagery, and 2), some software is overly expensive for not-a-whole-lot-of-features.

I first had a go with Cosmigo’s Pro Motion 6. This software is REALLY nice, but only if you can figure it out. The keyboard shortcuts somewhat reminded me of GIMP, but most of them I couldn’t really figure out, and the manual is very sub-par. However, with the right knowledge, this would easily be the best sprite editing software for someone who knew what they were doing. It features onion-skinning to get pixel-perfect animations, and even a tile map editor, although I couldn’t figure out how to get to that…

Next, I looked at InkScape. A bit of a hassle to figure out, so I quit it and uninstalled it.

Finally, I decided to fire up GIMP and give it a go, and to my surprise I found it quite useable! It’s incredibly easy to make tileable textures and tilesets from GIMP’s tools, and when you know what you’re doing, you can even create animations through layers. Best of all? It’s FREE. I was quickly able to make this tileset from within it, though it’s nowhere near complete – I’m going to add a lot more detail to the grass sections, and make it “pop” a little bit more.

Inspired by Sonic the Hedgehog!

Inspired by Sonic the Hedgehog!

Each tile is 32×32, as that’s going to be the size of the tiles in my game I will be making later on. As I said, these tiles are NOT finished, so if you want to go ahead and download them, I guess I don’t really mind. So much detail shall be added!

Leave a Reply

