Skip to content
April 18, 2013 / CoffeeCoder

Epic 2D Sidescrolling Platformer – In planning!

Over on the TGC Forums in “The Posting Competition” for the last couple of days, I’ve been hinting that I have a pretty cool idea for a platform game. And while I’m still learning how to make a 2D sidescrolling platformer, GameMaker makes it incredibly easy, and I could have a demo consisting of one level out soon! But that’s not what I’m here to talk about, because I haven’t even finished planning the game yet, so I’m not going to get ahead of myself with any promise of a demo or even a “beta”. Instead, I’m revealing the main premise of the game!

The main story of the game is that you’re a robot named S.V.E.N-5501, who controls a spaceship that’s currently on a mission to scout out a new planet for humanity to colonize (more of that part of the story later!). Unfortunately, the spaceship requires a certain level of fuel that starts to deplete, after a mysterious enemy ship engages S.V.E.N-5501 in combat!

S.V.E.N-5501 pulls through, but unfortunately does not have enough fuel to make it to his designated planet of humanity’s choice, and thus is forced to land on an unassuming planet, where he must search for an alternate fuel source. Along his way, he will find enemies, friends, power-ups, gravity-less zones, and almost certain death, when a true enemy arises…

The game is not titled as of yet, but you can bet it will be epic! Currently, as well as working on the story, I’m beginning work on the design aspect – what gameplay mechanics the game will have, how many levels, what type of levels, items, enemies, and all that jazz. I’m also shopping for sprite editing/animation software, and so far I’m liking Pro Motion 6 – it’s even got a map design feature, which would help make level design a lot easier.

The game will be created with GameMaker: Studio, and I can’t wait to get started! I’ll post some pre-production artwork in the next couple of days. I haven’t yet made a drawing I’m satisfied with. For now, you’ll just have to wait and see!

-YodamanJer, aka JeremyG

Leave a Reply

